20 Aug 2015
Gault&Millau Australia 2015 Award Finalists


Who are Melbourne and Sydney's leading hospitality professionals?

After nearly a year of evaluation and interviews, Gault&Millau Australia is proud to announce the Sydney and Melbourne finalists for their inaugural annual awards.

In November of this year, Gault&Millau Australia – publisher of the only internationally recognised restaurant guides in Australia – will publish and launch its third annual restaurant guide.

Gault&Millau Australia's Chief Judge said: 'We wish to acknowledge and celebrate the amazing talent we have in the Australian hospitality industry, and our awards recognise those outstanding men and women in the kitchen and on the floor who give Australia its international reputation as a culinary destination.'

Finalists will be announced and presented with their awards at Gault&Millau Australia's Mise en Place trade events, to be held in Sydney on 24th August (The Pavilion) and in Melbourne on 1st September (Siglo, The European). 

The winners in each category for both Sydney and Melbourne will be announced at the launch of the Gault&Millau 2016 Melbourne & Sydney Restaurant Guide, to be held on 9th November 2015. 

American Express 2015 Potentialist of the Year Award Finalists

The American Express Potentialist of the year not only shows incredible skill and dedication to their career development, but also demonstrates leadership, creativity and innovation within the kitchen and/or the hospitality industry more generally. This award provides a 'next step' for the winners, who will travel to France to attend the Gault&Millau International Chefs Summit in Monaco, travel throughout France meeting and experiencing some of the country's premier wine producers and providores, and 'stage' in two Paris restaurants.


Lauren Eldridge – Marque Restaurant, Surry Hills  

Katey Shaw – Rydges Campbelltown 

Kyle Vaughan – Rockpool Est. 1989, Sydney    

Jarrod Walsh – 117 Dining, Sydney  

Adam Wolfers – Yellow, Potts Point                    


Hugh Allen – Vue de monde, Melbourne

Natacha De Barba – ezard @ Levantine Hill, Coldstream (VIC)             

Jarrod Di Blasi – ezard, Melbourne 

Jake Kellie – Estelle Bistro, Northcote 

Bill Vukinamualevu – Attica, Ripponlea                                                                                            

Pork Star 2015 Professional of the Year Finalists

This award recognises exceptional restaurant floor staff, including wait-staff and other front-of-house staff who show incredible dedication and passion, not only to the restaurant in which they serve but also to their customers, always seeking to ensure that restaurant guests receive both high-quality service and the best-possible dining experience.


Miki Bisceglia – Firedoor, Surry Hills    

Vanessa Duckworth – Four in Hand Dining Room, Paddington   

Amanda McDivitt – ONESIXEIGHT, Balmain  

Abby Meinke – Moon Park, Redfern 

Tim Watkins – Monopole, Potts Point                                   


Joe Durrant – Grossi Florentino, Melbourne

Laurence Ip – Cosi Bar Ristorante, South Yarra

Lauren Mather – Habitat, Fitzroy

Tessa Murray – Supernormal, Melbourne

Sally Robinson – Coda, Melbourne

Riedel 2015 Sommelier of the Year Finalists

This award acknowledges sommeliers whose experience, knowledge and dedication to the wine list and master cellar is reflected not only in the choice provided to diners, but in how these choices are presented and described. The Sommelier of the Year shows incredible enthusiasm and passion for wine, as well as an extraordinary level of care and thought about the wines they offer and how these wines enhance the flavours of the food.


Simon Curkovic – Marque Restaurant, Surry Hills   

Paul Huet– est., Sydney      

Dan Sharp – sixpenny, Stanmore  

Rodney Setter – Sepia, Sydney  

Amanda Yallop – Quay, The Rocks                            


Leanne Altmann – Supernormal, Melbourne    

Gareth Bernett – Woodland House, Prahran

Banjo Harris-Plane – Attica, Ripponlea 

Sally Humble – Lûmé, South Melbourne, South Melbourne

Matthew Lamb – Vue de monde, Melbourne                                                                                              

Perrier-Jouët 2015 New Restaurant of the Year Finalists

This award is given to restaurants that have been open for less than 12 months or that have been redeveloped and reborn under new management, and which show extraordinary potential as well as innovation, character, all while serving delicious food. The New Restaurant of the Year offers not only a great dining experience, but also adds something new and exciting their state's restaurant scene.


Bennelong, Sydney  

Clareville Kiosk, Clareville Beach  

Firedoor, Surry Hills       

Raita Noda Chef's Kitchen, Surry Hills  

Vine Double Bay, Double Bay                                             


Babu Ji, St Kilda

Botherambo, Richmond

L'Hôtel Gitan, Prahran

Lûmé, South Melbourne

The Roving Marrow, Carlton

V-ZUG 2015 Chef of the Year Finalists

The Chef of the Year award recognises not only the top chefs in Sydney and Melbourne, but also chefs who are pushing the limits within the kitchen and using innovation and imagination to create dishes that wow their diners. The Chef of the Year demonstrates outstanding technique, creativity on the plate and of course passion and dedication to both the industry and their calling as a chef, with this same passion reflected in every dish they serve.


Grant King – Gastro Park, Potts Point  

Ross Lusted – The Bridge Room, Sydney 

Josh Nyland – Café Nice, Circular Quay 

James Parry – sixpenny, Stanmore      

Daniel Puskas – sixpenny, Stanmore                                                                                


Benjamin Cooper – Chin Chin, Melbourne, and Kong, Richmond 

Teage Ezard – ezard, Melbourne            

Andrew McConnell – CUMULUS INC./CUMULUS UP., Melbourne, and Culter & Co., Fitzroy 

Ben Shewry – Attica, Ripponlea           

Dave Verheul – The Town Mouse, Carlton                          

Lavazza 2015 Restaurant of the Year Finalists

The Restaurant of the Year Award is given to the top-scoring restaurants in both Sydney and Melbourne. Scores are based on the Gault&Millau international system for evaluating the technique and creativity of the chef, the atmosphere and ambiance of the restaurant (including service) and the quality of the food overall. 


est., Sydney                                                                        

Guillaume, Paddington                                                            

Rockpool Est. 1989, Sydney                                                     

Sepia, Sydney                                                                      

Tetsuya's, Sydney                                                                 


Attica, Ripponlea

ezard, Melbourne

Grossi Florentino, Melbourne

Vue de monde, Melbourne

Woodland House, Prahran

Cookie Policy

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible experience. By continuing to use our site, you agree to our use of cookies.
Find out more how we use cookies.